featured news

60 schools in Leyte adapt DOST STARBOOKS

Thursday, March 22, 2012 08:40 AM    Views : 3412by:Philippine Information Agency

GOVERNMENT CENTER, Palo, Leyte, March 22 (PIA) -- Soon, public libraries that are incomplete will be a thing of the past. In Leyte, 60 schools have availed of the Department of Science and Technology STARBOOKS or the Science and Technology Academic and Research-Based Openly-Operated Kiosk Station, the first Philippine science digital library developed by the Science and Technology Information Institute (STII) of DOST. It is a system that provides free access on S&T information for academic and livelihood use, DOST Director Edgardo Esperacilla said.

With the end in view of coping up with the modern times and providing an effective and efficient access to Science and Technology Information through the use of information and communication technologies, the DOST Region 8 recently signed a Memorandum of Agreement with the Department of Education Leyte division for the implementation of the project “Piloting of STARBOOKS in Selected Schools in Leyte.
The system provides relevant and latest information on S&T subjects.  Users can have access to thousands of titles of books, journals, scientific researches, technical and annual reports, and other latest data and information contained at the DOST’s Science Information Network (SciNeT), Philippine eLib project sources, freely-available online resources, and subscribed databases.
The recipients of the project are selected educational institutions/libraries in Leyte with S&T priority subjects in their curriculum. The project also aims to enhance  the interest of students in the field of S&T, encourage their great and curious minds to develop new ideas, inventions, and innovations and stimulate and inspire their capacity to get involved in research and entrepreneurship.

leyte 3rdbatch

DOST Leyte Provincial Director John Glen Ocana said he is happy that when he informed Leyte Division Superintendent Sarah Apurillo about the STARBOOKS, she readily accepted the idea.

Director Ocana said that at least 60 schools of the Leyte Division have already availed of the STARBOOKS. These schools include Palo National High School, Tanauan National High School, Julita National High School, Tolosa National High School, Cassidy Elementary School, Library Hub of the Division of Leyte, Burauen Comprehensive National High School, Palo I Central School, Santa Mesa, Dagami National High School, Justimbaste-Remandaban National High School in Tabon-Tabon, Granja-Kalinawan National High School in Jaro, Tanauan I Central, Sta. Fe Central School, Alangalang National High School, MacArthur National High School, Astorga National High School, San Joaquin National High School, Carigara School of Fisheries, Tanauan School of Craftsmanship and Home Industries, Burauen South District, and Binongtoan Central School at Alangalang II.

The second batch of schools that availed of STARBOOKS includeHindang Central School, Abuyog National High School, Plaridel Central School, Javier National High School, Bontoc National High School, Hampipila National High School, Baybay National High School, Bato National High School, Matalom National High School, Mahaplag National High School, Hilongos National Vocational School, Plaridel National High School, Bunga National High School, Caridad National High School, Inopacan National High, Baybay I Central School, Inopacan Central School, Sta Margarita National High School, Hindang National High School.

Calubian National High School, Leyte National High School-Main, Leyte National High School- Consuegra Annex, Damulaan National High School, Kananga I Central School, Matlang National  High School, Marcelino R. Veloso National High School, Isabel National Comprehensive School, Tabango Central School, Tabango National High School, Muertegui National High  School, Dr. Geronimo B. Zaldivar Memorial School of Fisheries, Calubian South Central School, San Isidro National High School, Merida Vocational School, Leyte Agro-Industrial School, Matag-ob National High School, and Palompon North District.

Other schools that wish to avail of the STARBOOKS will be given the contents / software for free. However, they are required to provide for the computer system with the minimum requirements specified for the installation of the STARBOOKS software, Ocana said. (EOPT- PIA 8)

Source: http://www.pia.gov.ph/news/index.php?article=1141332385077

S & T Trivia

" Flying in 1954 at the Manila International Airport, the airplane with an engine using alcohol was invented by Dr. Gregorio Zara (born on March 8, 1902). He also made the TV-telephone (videophone), a device that enables callers to view each other onscreen. "

Online Resources
© copyright 2012 www.science.ph. All rights reserved.