Filipina scientist appointed as nuclear watchdog IAEA director

Thursday, March 14, 2019 12:00 AM    Views : 153by:Philippine Star

An Austria-based Filipina scientist rose from the ranks and was appointed as one of the directors of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), the nuclear “watchdog.”

Dr. Jane Gerardo-Abaya was appointed as IAEA’s Department of Technical Cooperation Asia and the Pacific Division director.

Ambassador to Austria Maria Cleofe Natividad congratulated Abaya, who officially assumed her new position last Jan. 1, at a courtesy call in the Philippine Permanent Mission in Vienna’s chancery.

Natividad conveyed the Permanent Mission’s full support to Abaya in carrying out her duties as a new division director at the IAEA. She said that Abaya’s appointment is a remarkable achievement in the Philippines’ efforts toward increasing women’s representation at the higher echelons of the IAEA.

She also expressed her full confidence that Abaya will be up for the task given her exemplary qualifications and extensive experience.

Abaya is an Austria-based Filipina scientist who has been with the IAEA in various capacities since 1994. In 2017, IAEA Director General Yukiya Amano conferred on her a “Superior Achievement Award.” In 2008, she received a “Distinguished Service Award” from then IAEA Director General Mohamed ElBaradei.

She received a Balik Scientist Award and a research grant from the Department of Science and Technology in 2008. Her works on isotope hydrology and water and geothermal energy resources were contributed to the University of the PhilippinesDiliman’s National Institute of Geological Sciences, where she is an alumna.

The Filipina’s appointment adds further impetus to the Permanent Mission’s steadfast commitment to deepen cooperation with the IAEA, particularly through its Technical Cooperation (TC) Program, in line with the Philippines’ development goals.


S & T Trivia

" Felix D. Maramba Sr. invented the power generator fed by charcoal and coconut oil. "

Online Resources
© copyright 2012 All rights reserved.