143 studes in Northern Mindanao qualify for DOST scholarship

Tuesday, April 17, 2012 05:48 AM    Views : 1610by:Sun.Star Cagayan de Oro

THE Department of Science and Technology (DOST) Northern Mindanao announces the new batch of science scholars from the region.

At least 11 qualified under the Merit Category and 132 for Republic Act 7687.

The scholars will enjoy tuition and school fee grants, PE uniform, book and transportation allowances, monthly stipend and group accident insurance.

The new scholars are expected to enroll in an approved priority science and technology course at state colleges and universities and Commission on Higher Education (Ched) Centers of Excellence/Development.

Qualifiers are required to attend the scholarship orientation/contract signing on April 23 at Philtown Hotel in Cagayan de Oro City with one of their parents or a legal guardian. They are requested to bring their parent's/legal guardian's 2012 Community Tax Certificate or affidavit of guardianship, two pieces 1x1 ID picture, documentary stamp and P100 notarial fee.

Scholars from the provinces and cities outside Misamis Oriental are requested to report in the morning at 8:00 o'clock while those from Cagayan de Oro City and Misamis Oriental are required to attend the afternoon session, which will start at 1:00 o'clock.

The final list of qualifiers is available at the nearest DOST Provincial Science and Technology Centers (PSTCs) in the region and at the DOST Regional Office.

Those who qualified under the Merit category are Liza Jane L. Abucejo, Michael Angelo G. Aquino, Jasper Frederick C. Briones, Engel John C. Dela Vega, Adam Jo J. Elatico, Adrian G. Fernandico, Patrick Noel Z. Genio, Angelie Marie M. Maglasang, Miguel Alejandro A. Silan, Ceferino Kevin A. Tan and Sarij Sukarno T. Tanggol.

For the RA 7687 category, the qualifiers include Mark Vincent F. Abadies, Jannah Joy S. Abellanosa, Somayyah O. Abubacar, Shandy C. Achacoso, Marra Cariel M. Adavan, Krisryl Ivy S. Alcantara, Nina Segunda L. Alvia, Reo Christian P. Alsola, Ronne Joshua C. Ambulo, Amerhussein R. Amenodin, Carl Harvey L. Aque, Kenneth T. Asuncion, Vergel M. Atoc, Elraiza Mae S. Baconguis, Krisna R. Bagtasos, Raphael Jose N. Balonga, Al J. Bangoy, Matthew Joselin I. Barraquias, Joseph E. Bayonas, Kenneth T. Beniga, Juliet O. Bernaldez, Katrina Cassandra Louise S. Biatisola, Roselyn Jean M. Boiser, Kevin Bryan U. Caayaman, Lawrence M. Cagalitan, Felizer II N. Caitor, Jasper M. Cajes, Carlo Jay R. Canilao, Ma. Adela Christine B. Canizares, Christine Jean I. Casino, Aldwin Leumer M. Casipit, Lorie Anne M. Castillano, Erika K. Cebedo, Ma. Bernadette P. Cloribel, Katherine Salve Danielle C. Cometa, Irish Mae G. Cordero, Mark Angelo F. Cubio, Rose Jane V. Cuerquis, Ronel M. Culibar, Bea Marisse F. Daayata, Jerric R. Delfin, Angel Danica P. Dizon, Vanessa Kristine V. Echem, Christian A. Esclamado, Andrea Jane P. Eslit, Sean Igie B. Felesedario, Renee Zara S. Gaan, Arnoselle D. Gabales, Princess Loredee C. Gabot, Karen Judel R. Gallardo, Faith Mavel A. Galgo, Beauty Rose M. Gandarosa, Ivie A. Guillena, Carl Michael Jay S. Hallazgo, Sheila Mariel G. Hallazgo, John Vincent L. Hambre, Noemi Grace T. Ingaod, John Bradly P. Ipanag, Bobby A. Jarabe, Joshua V. Jimenez, Jay Claire A. Lambong, Eljohn E. Lapad, Richemae Grace R. Lebosada and Jedelyn R. Lico.

Also included are Jellian Grace C. Mabale, Bambee B. Madrazo, Aldren R. Magan, Juliene Marie L. Magbanua, Donnelly M. Magdale, Edilvin Walter P. Maghanoy, James Nicholas B. Mahinay, Kenneth Jane C. Manlangit, Chreslane Jane M. Manrique, Alnur D. Mapandi, Armano G. Meking, Jelly Mae M. Montejo, Crispin Jr. P. Montes, Anthea M. Mordeno, Christopher Ian D. Murcilla, Bonie P. Nagac, Leah C. Neri, Robert T. Nericua, Shelly Theresse C. Novo, Juneil O. Ochavo, Gerald S. Oloves, Jovan Lance S. Pabua, Racelle Jan B. Pajaro, Danna Recel S. Pamisa, Richard Jr. A. Pala, Kim Lorie Y. Pascual, Axel Patrick B. Pingol, Ed Dominick S. Postrano, Jon Florence Z. Prantilla, Excel P. Pulmano, Rovelyn D. Quinal, Shenar Moera Joy F. Resurreccion, Pamela J. Rodriguez, Ker John Y. Sacis, Arianne Mitz W. Saguing, Shaira Christine R. Saldua, Clint Jan C. Salvana, Alyza A. Sasing, Jose Bonifacio O. Sibayan, Rojean J. Silmaro, Gay P. Simborio, Oliver E. Soliva, Rodelo D. Tabamo, Benjie Lloyd V. Tabios, Bethel Grace C. Talha, Angeline G. Tayros, Mae Erika R. Teodoro, John Xavier P. Toledo, Ritchie O. Tumampos, Kennelyn G. Ucat, Christrhea N. Udang, Apple Kate S. Unson, Richelle B. Vacalares, Sarah Jane I. Valdon, Jeric S. Verano, Neil Harris E. Yacapin, Zioda Clara L. Yamba and Bynn Jessa H. Yting.

The DOST continues to provide scholarships to deserving students who wish to pursue Science and Technology (S&T) courses in tertiary level for the development of competent manpower that will run the country's industry.

The S&T Scholarship Program under Republic Act 7687 of 1994 awards scholarships in baccalaureate degrees to talented and deserving students from poor families.

On the other hand, the Merit Scholarship program, which started in 1958, provides scholarships in priority S&T courses and is open to those who belong to higher socio-economic status.

For more information, please visit the DOST Provincial Science and Technology Centers or the DOST Regional Office at J.V. Serina St. in Barangay Carmen (near JR Borja Memorial City Hospital), Cagayan de Oro City or call (088) 858-6790 or visit the DOST-10 website (PR)


S & T Trivia


The Philippine Journal of Science was a result of the increased knowledge brought about by unprecedented large increase in the Bureau’s output of new technical data about physical health and natural wealth which required a regular outlet in January 1906.


Online Resources
© copyright 2012 All rights reserved.