Ebarvia wins 2019 DEN award; first awardee from PHL

Filipino Assistant Scientist Dr. Benilda S. Ebarvia was awarded the 2019 Developing Economies National Metrology Institute (DEN) Award in rites at Le Montage in Sydney, Australia, on December 4, 2019. Ebarvia was the first DEN winner for the Philippines.

She bested others from 16 countries, including Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, North Korea, Pakistan, Zimbabwe, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.

Dr. Toshiyuki Takatsuji, of the NMI of Japan and chairman of the Asia Pacific Metrology Programme (APMP), handed the award to Ebarvia.

Ebarvia is the head of the Metrology in Chemistry (MiC) Laboratory of the National Metrology Laboratory (NML) of the Industrial Technology Development Institute-Department of Science and Technology (ITDI-DOST).

She received the award for having played a  key  role  in  establishing  the MiC lab at NML-ITDI-DOST, and raising funds for its operations, including raising awareness of metrology among stakeholders in the country.

However, she is best represented by her work in developing the first reference materials (RMs) in the Philippines. RMs are means to confirm methods and to assess accuracy of measurement results for use by measurement laboratories to analyze, for example, content of properties in foodstuffs, e.g., aflatoxin in milk powder, and aflatoxins B and G in peanut butter products, among others.

These are useful also in proving what makes up a particular food, its micronutrients, or the extent of its authenticity.

Further, Ebarvia’s RM work supports results of measurement laboratories to ensure that local commodities can pass stringent international trade standards on food quality and control.

APMP established the DEN Award in November 2010. It aims to highlight contributions and to recognize outstanding achievements of an individual from APMP’s 17 member-economies  in  advancing  metrology efforts  in  their  country and within the Asia-Pacific region.

It  gives the award  to  only  one  individual every year, with APMP reserving the right to declare no winner within an award year.

AMGuevarra/S&T Media Service

Source: https://businessmirror.com.ph/2020/01/12/ebarvia-wins-2019-den-award-first-awardee-from-phl/

Other News from NCR

FAQs on Novel Coronavirus (COVID-2019)
Posted: Friday, February 21, 2020
In view of the need to keep the public abreast with accurate and relevant information, the Department of Health wishes to provide the public with right information about the COVID-2019:1. What are cor...   read full story

Posted: Thursday, February 20, 2020
Mr. Carlo Chris Apurillo presenting the results of their study during the NRCP Regional Basic Research Caravan in Tacloban City. Some 22 fungi species living in mangroves have been isolated an...   read full story

DOST-NRCP gets new members from its regional research caravan
Posted: Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tacloban City - Around 200 active researchers, including artists, from 17 institutions in Eastern Visayas participated in the first DOST-NRCP Regional Basic Research Caravan (RBRC) for the year 2020...   read full story

Research for public good in to the spotlight in 2020 NRCP scientific conference
Posted: Thursday, February 20, 2020
Researches across various disciplines bring socio-economic benefits to the country and to the public as a whole. Some of these researches for the public good will be highlighted at the Department o...   read full story